LIV Golf Orlando - Everything you need to know

Plus, Lies, sex, and rock n’ roll - What the media want’s you to think, LIV Orlando predictions

Welcome to LIVbreathegolf. We’re like the Oreo’s of golf news. Taste great, leave you wanting more, and go great with a tall glass of milk.

What we’re teeing up for you today:

  • Disney pregame? LIV takes on Orlando

  • Lies, sex, and rock n’ roll - What the media want’s you to think

  • LIV Orlando predictions

What’s Up LIVbreathegolfer’s!

Folks, before we get started, this newsletter is going to move to Tuesday’s and Thursday’s along with event days.

The truth of LIV right now is there is a long time in between events. And sometimes there is just not that much news to cover that actually matters. So I don’t want to fall into the trap of digging up random topics for you, or just bashing the PGA Tour in support of LIV.

I promised to bring you fire, and that is what I’m going to do. In order to do that I will be collecting any relevant information throughout the week and then we will visit it on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s.

Of course, when there are events going on I will be there for you. Open up your inbox and you will find me there to hold you. To whisper the leaderboard in your ear. And show you the best shots of the day.

I do want your opinion though. Reply to this email and let me know if you like these changes or hate them. What do you want? What do you crave?

Alright, now the good stuff

LIV is back TOMORROW🎉🎉🎉

That’s right, LIV is taking over Orlando from March 31st to April 2nd and I’m going to take you from the first tee all the way to Disney World (or as my wife would prefer, Harry Potter world).

The 6 W’s to Get You Through The Weekend

Who: LIV Golf’s finest. 12 teams. 48 Players. Battling it out.

What: 3 rounds of stroke play golf. 18 holes Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

When: 31 March - 02 April 2023. Coverage starts on the CW and CW App at 1:00 pm EST. Shotgun start shortly after.

Why: Players and teams will compete for huge money as well points towards the championship at the end of the year

Winnings: 

  • Purse: $25 million ($20 million individual, $5 million team)

  • Winner’s cut: $4 million individual, $3 million team

The course, of course

Crooked Cat features significant elevation changes, rolling fairways and large, contoured greens. It will look a little more like a links style course. But the fun part is that it is really designed for players to smack the 💩 out of the ball.

While there are plenty of traps (literal sand ones as well as precarious spots) the open feel allows golfers to let loose a little more and play the ball outside of the lines.

We may like big putts here, but there is something mesmerizing about watching a ball fly 300+ yards in the air.

Threesomes

In preparation for next week’s Masters tournament it is only fitting that the 6 previous Masters winners be paired up to start the weekend.

Bubba Watson (2012, 2014 champ), Sergio Garcia (2017) and Patrick Reed (2018) will start on hole No. 1, while Phil Mickelson (2004, 2006, 2010), Charl Schwartzel (2011) and Dustin Johnson (2020) will tee off on hole No. 2.

  1. That should make for some interesting golf.

  2. Maybe we will see a few of these guys paired up on Sunday afternoon next week👀

A few changes

  1. Martin Kaymer is still out with his wrist issues. Laurie Canter is replacing him once again. Canter is sitting at 39th on the season right now. You’ve got to think they are missing Kaymer right about now. (He at least can’t do much worse)

  2. Anirban Lahiri is out for personal reasons. Andy Ogletree is taking his place for this one.

LIV/PGA Feud Invented By The Media

I am about to blow your mind🤯

Golf media wants you to click on their stories. (I know, crazy, right)

And how do they get more clicks?

By creating drama, conflict, headlines and stories that are interesting.

Think about any movie you have watched recently. I bet you it started with either some type of violence or sex. A thrill

  • Finding Nemo ✅

  • Star wars ✅

  • Harry Potter ✅

  • Cocaine Bear ✅

Now, there’s not a whole lot of sex to lead with when discussing LIV vs. PGA Tour (although if there was I’m sure you would hear about it) so they go with violence.

They want to focus on the drama between top players leaving. Is LIV good or bad? Are players mad about guys leaving or not? Lawsuits. How awkward it’s going to be when LIV guys show up to dinner at the Masters.

Do you want the truth?

“All the guys that I was mates with are still my mates. No one has told me to piss off or not talk to them ever again. I’d like to think that I’m a pretty easy person to talk to and if anyone ever wanted to confront me, I’m all about talking about it and making sure they’re comfortable with it as well. It’s not my spot to step on anyone’s toes and that’s the last thing I wanted to do.”

Cameron Smith

The players don’t actually hate each other for leaving. Sure, some of them probably disagree, but it is not as big of a deal as certain publications will make it out to be.

“It’s only awkward in the media“

Bubba Watson

I understand that - “we’re all happy and hope everyone does their best with their own decisions” - is not the most thrilling storyline in the world. But it’s not really fair to the players to keep blowing it out of proportion. And, honestly, I’m pretty sick of it as a fan.

Maybe this won’t get clicked on since I’m writing about rainbow’s and sunshine. That’s okay.

I’m going to watch some awesome golf from Orlando this weekend and then some more awesome golf from Augusta next weekend. And that’s all that matters. (although I will be rooting for the LIV Guys😉)

Breakfast Balls

(Click on the links for more info)

The Chainsmokers are booked for LIV’s event in Singapore. A good sign as big names keep getting added to these events.

Who does the LIV broadcast team have winning in Orlando?

Thomas Pieters talks openly about LIV and why he decided to join

Meme of the Day

Don’t golf alone, Share LIVbreathegolf and get more people on the course

For sharing you get…something???

Is my undying gratitude enough? If people actually start reading this maybe you will get a sticker or a trip to the LIV Golf finals or something… who knows. For now, just know that I love you.

How’s My Swing?

Will you do me a favor now that you are done reading? Click one of the buttons below and let me know how the newsletter was today. I really appreciate any feedback and it helps LIVbreathegolf grow and improve for you and all who come after.

Thanks!

Bogey, bogey, par, birdie, par, par, bogey, birdie, par...